Otter alternatives, compared on the record.

Five note takers people move to from Otter, with prices and policies taken from each vendor's own pages on October 8, 2026.

Where a vendor's page doesn't say something, the table says so.

People look for an Otter alternative for a handful of reasons: the free plan's limits, a bot joining their calls, how their recordings are used for AI training, or meetings that happen in person. The tools below differ on exactly those points, so the table compares them there rather than on feature lists.

Otter alternatives, side by side

OtterFirefliesFathomGranolatl;dvFluent
Cheapest paid planPro $16.99/user/mo, or $8.33/user/mo billed yearlyPro $18/seat/mo, or $10/seat/mo billed yearlyPremium $20/user/mo, or $16/user/mo billed yearlyBusiness $14/user/moPro €29/seat/mo, or €18/seat/mo billed yearly (prices shown in EUR)Pro $9.99/mo, or $83.99/yr
Free plan300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversationFree forever: limited AI summaries, 400 minutes of storage per teamFree forever: unlimited recordings and transcriptions, some AI features limitedBasic: limited meeting historyFree Forever plan; limits not stated on the pages checked5 conversations a month
Bot in your callsAI Notetaker joins Zoom, Teams and Meet; the desktop app records without a botFred joins calls; the desktop app records without a botBot capture, or bot-free capture (beta, Mac)No: uses your computer's audioBot for Meet, Zoom and Teams; the desktop app records with no botNever
In-person meetingsYes, in the iOS and Android appsYes, in the mobile appYes, in the iOS appYes, in the iPhone and Android appsNot stated; no native mobile app yetYes: a Limitless or Omi pendant, or your iPhone (rolling out)
PlatformsMac, Windows, iOS, Android, Chrome extensionDesktop app, iOS, Android, Chrome extensionMac, Windows, iOSmacOS, Windows, iOS, AndroidWeb, Mac, WindowsiOS 16+ (iPhone and iPad); Android in development
Trains AI on your dataYes, on de-identified audio and transcripts; no opt-out foundNot by defaultMay train on de-identified meeting data; opt-out in settingsYes, on anonymized data; opt-out in settings (off by default on Enterprise)NoNo

Checked October 8, 2026 · Sources: Otter pricing, Otter apps, Otter privacy & security, Fireflies pricing, Fireflies mobile, Fireflies desktop, Fireflies security, Fathom pricing, Fathom compatible devices, Fathom privacy policy, Granola pricing, Granola, Granola security, tl;dv pricing, tl;dv, tl;dv desktop app, tl;dv security, Fluent pricing, Fluent FAQ, Fluent privacy

Prices are for one user or seat. Otter also shows lower prices that its pricing page limits to India-issued cards; those are left out.

Who each alternative suits

Fireflies

  • Pro is aimed at professionals and small teams; record with the bot or the bot-free desktop app
  • Says it doesn't train on your data by default

Fathom

  • Individuals who want unlimited free recordings and transcriptions
  • Mac and Windows calls, plus an iOS app for in-person

Granola

  • Built, in its words, for people in back-to-back meetings; no bot
  • Desktop and phone apps; check the training opt-out in settings

tl;dv

  • Sales, customer success and internal meetings on Meet, Zoom or Teams
  • No native mobile app yet

Where Fluent is different

Fluent never joins your calls and never trains on your conversations. It records on a Limitless or Omi pendant, or your iPhone as phone capture rolls out, so in-person meetings are the main use, not an add-on. Beyond notes, it tracks action items by who said them and keeps people profiles across every conversation.

Fluent vs Otter in detail

Who each one is for

Stay with a call recorder if

  • Nearly all your meetings are on Zoom, Meet or Teams
  • Your team wants a shared workspace of call recordings
  • You need Windows, Android or web today

Choose Fluent if

  • Your important meetings happen in person
  • You don't want a bot in the participant list or AI training on your data
  • You want follow-through and people context across meetings

Questions

What is the best free Otter alternative?

On the free plans as listed on October 8, 2026: Fathom offers unlimited recordings and transcriptions with some AI features limited, Fireflies offers a free plan with limited AI summaries and 400 minutes of storage per team, and Fluent's free plan includes 5 conversations a month. Otter's free plan allows 300 minutes a month at up to 30 minutes per conversation.

Which Otter alternatives don't use a bot?

Granola records your computer's audio without a bot, and Fluent never joins a call. Otter, Fireflies and tl;dv also offer desktop apps that record without a bot, alongside their call bots, and Fathom offers bot-free capture in beta on Mac.

Which Otter alternatives work for in-person meetings?

Fireflies, Fathom and Granola record in person through their phone apps, as does Otter itself. tl;dv's site says it has no native mobile app yet. Fluent records in person on a Limitless or Omi pendant, or on your iPhone as phone capture rolls out.

Do these tools train AI on my meetings?

Per their own pages on October 8, 2026: Otter trains on de-identified data, Granola on anonymized data (opt-out available), and Fathom may train on de-identified data (opt-out available). Fireflies says it doesn't by default; tl;dv and Fluent say they don't.

Try the alternative that leaves the bot out.

Fluent's free plan includes 5 conversations a month.

See Fluent pricing