Plaud alternatives, compared on the record.

Four options people weigh against a Plaud recorder, with prices and policies taken from each vendor's own pages on October 12, 2026.

Where a vendor's page doesn't say something, the table says so.

People look for a Plaud alternative for a few reasons: one more device to charge and carry, a subscription on top of the hardware, or wanting the notes to keep working with something they already own. The options below take different routes: another wearable, a phone or desktop app, or software for a pendant you already have. If you record phone calls, read the last section first: that's where Plaud is hard to replace.

Plaud alternatives, side by side

PlaudOmiOtterGranolaFluent
DeviceNotePin $159, Note $159, NotePin S $179, Note Pro $189Omi pendant $129 ($179 list; $50 off at checkout)None: iOS and Android apps, plus desktopNone: desktop, iOS, Android and Apple Watch appsNone to buy: your iPhone, or a Limitless or Omi pendant you own
Free planStarter: 300 transcription minutes a monthIncluded with the device: unlimited on-phone transcription plus 300 cloud minutes a monthBasic: 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversationBasic: $0, with limited meeting history5 conversations a month
Paid plansPro $17.99/mo, or $8.33/mo yearly (1,200 min). Unlimited $29.99/mo, or $19.99/mo yearlyUnlimited $269/yrPro $16.99/mo, or $8.33/mo yearly. Business $30/user/moBusiness $14 per user/mo. Enterprise $35 per user/moPro $9.99/mo, or $83.99/yr. Premium $19.99/mo, or $167.99/yr
Phone callsYes: Plaud says Note and Note Pro are for people who rely on phone callsNot stated on the pages checkedNot stated on the pages checkedYes: the mobile app takes notes for your phone callsNo
Online meetingsPlaud Desktop (beta), no botNot stated on the pages checkedA bot that joins the call, or the desktop appYour computer's audio, no botNo: Fluent records the room, not a call's far side
Trains AI on your dataNot by default; opt-in onlyNo, without your explicit permissionYes: on de-identified audio recordings, and on transcriptsAnonymized training unless you opt outNever used to train models

Checked October 12, 2026 · Sources: Plaud shop, Plaud AI plans, Plaud NotePin, Plaud Desktop, Plaud trust, Omi pricing, Omi privacy policy, Otter pricing, Otter privacy policy, Granola pricing, Bee Pioneer, TechCrunch: Amazon to acquire Bee (July 22, 2025), Limitless: acquired by Meta, customer FAQ, Fluent pricing, Fluent FAQ

Prices are list prices for one user or device. Plaud's plan page shows Unlimited yearly as both $19.99 and $20.00 a month; the table uses its FAQ figure.

Who each alternative suits

Omi

  • Another wearable, for less than a Plaud: $129 at checkout
  • Free plan included with the device; Unlimited is $269 a year

Otter

  • No device: records in person in its phone app, and joins video calls
  • Trains on de-identified audio recordings, and on transcripts

Granola

  • No device and no bot: your computer's audio, or its phone app
  • Takes notes for phone calls in its mobile app

Fluent

  • No new device: your iPhone, or the Limitless or Omi pendant you own
  • Doesn't record phone calls or online meetings

Where Fluent is different

Fluent is software, not another recorder. It works with your iPhone or a Limitless or Omi pendant you already own, never trains on your conversations, and goes past notes: action items tracked by who said them, and people profiles across every conversation.

Fluent vs Plaud in detail

Who each one is for

Stay with Plaud if

  • You record phone calls: Plaud's Note and Note Pro are built for them, and Fluent doesn't record calls
  • You want a dedicated recorder with its own battery, separate from your phone
  • You also want online meetings recorded without a bot, through Plaud Desktop

Choose Fluent if

  • Your important conversations happen in person
  • You'd rather use your iPhone or the pendant you have than carry another device
  • You want follow-through and people context across conversations

Questions

What is the best free Plaud alternative?

On the free plans as listed on October 12, 2026: Otter's Basic plan includes 300 transcription minutes a month at up to 30 minutes per conversation, Granola's Basic plan is free with limited meeting history, and Fluent's free plan includes 5 conversations a month. Omi's free plan (unlimited on-phone transcription plus 300 cloud minutes) comes with its $129 device. Plaud's own Starter plan includes 300 minutes a month with its recorder.

Is there a Plaud alternative that doesn't need a device?

Yes. Otter and Granola record from their phone and desktop apps, and Fluent records on your iPhone. Fluent also works with a Limitless or Omi pendant if you already have one.

Which Plaud alternatives record phone calls?

Granola's mobile app takes notes for phone calls. Omi's and Otter's pages checked don't say. Fluent doesn't record phone calls: it records the conversation in the room.

What about Bee and Limitless?

Neither is easy to buy as of October 12, 2026. Bee, whose acquisition by Amazon was announced in July 2025, shows its Bee Pioneer as sold out. Limitless was acquired by Meta, stopped selling its pendant to new customers, and says it will support existing pendants throughout 2026. If you own a Limitless pendant, Fluent works with it.

Do any of these train AI on my recordings?

Per each vendor's own pages: Plaud doesn't by default (opt-in only), Omi doesn't without your explicit permission, Granola uses anonymized data unless you opt out, and Otter trains on de-identified audio recordings, and on transcripts. Fluent never uses your conversations to train models.

Try the alternative that uses what you already carry.

Fluent's free plan includes 5 conversations a month.

See Fluent pricing